When planning the activities for the setting

When planning the activities for the setting, focus must be placed on the curriculum in order to ensure that all areas of learning are covered for the children in our care. The Early Years Foundation Phase is a statutory framework that sets out standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five. The framework is designed to ensure that the seven different areas of learning are included. The areas that need to be developed are;

– Knowledge and Understanding of The World
– Communication
– Personal
– Numeracy
– Creative Development
– Physical Development
– Welsh Language Development

All staff should plan activities based on the curriculum, that help children to make good progress towards, and where appropriate beyond, these goals. The objective would be that, by the time they leave the care of the setting the children should be able to achieve all of the above early learning goals.